College Championships


Callahan Award Winners Announced for 2021, 2022

Colorado Springs, Colo. (April 17, 2023) – As an update for the previous two seasons, the 2021 Callahan Award winners and the 2022 Callahan Award winners were announced in Norco, California and Milwaukee, Wisconsin, respectively.

In 2021, Azeez Adeyemi from Brown University Brownian Motion and Jasmine Childress from the University of California-Santa Barbara Burning Skirts were announced as the most valuable players in the college division, a list that includes some of the sport’s most prolific names.

In 2022, John Randolph from Brown University Brownian Motion and Dawn Culton from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Pleiades took home the Callahan award while in Milwaukee. 

For Brown University Brownian Motion, the school now holds the record for the most Callahan winners from one school with five winners. Adeyemi and Randolph join Fortunat Mueller (1999), Justin Safdie (2000) and Josh Ziperstein (2005) as the university’s fourth and fifth Callahan winners, respectively. Oregon’s Ego sits in second place all-time in the men’s division with three winners. 

For the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Pleiades, the school now also holds the record for the most Callahan winners from one school in women’s history with three winners. Culton joins Leila Tunnell (2011) and Anne Worth (2020) as the university’s third Callahan winner. Four schools in the women’s division have two Callahan winners (Dartmouth, Oregon, Stanford, Wisconsin). 

For the University of California-Santa Barbara, Childress is the first athlete from the Burning Skirts to be awarded the Callahan Award.

Founded in 1996 by Charles Kerr, the award is named after Henry Callahan, an ultimate player and one of the sport’s original organizers. Each year, the Callahan is awarded to the most valuable players in college ultimate, as voted on by their peers.

The top five finalists in each division, in alphabetical order, were as follows:

2021 Men’s Division Finalists:

  • Azeez Adeyemi – Brown
  • Anders Juengst – North Carolina
  • Cole Jurek – Minnesota
  • Michael Lee – North Carolina State
  • Jonny Malks – William & Mary

2021 Women’s Division Finalists: 

  • Jasmine Childress – California-Santa Barbara
  • Alex Diaz – California-San Diego
  • Bridget Mizener – North Carolina
  • Marie Perivier – Georgia
  • Jessie Sun – Pittsburgh

2022 Men’s Division Finalists:

  • Alexander Atkins – Colorado
  • Hayden Austin-Knab – Georgia
  • Trevor Lynch – North Carolina State
  • John Randolph – Brown
  • Liam Searles-Bohs – North Carolina

2022 Women’s Division Finalists: 

  • Duschia Bodet – Northeastern
  • Dawn Culton – North Carolina
  • Ava Hanna – California-San Diego
  • Marie Perivier – Georgia
  • Stephanie Phillips – Washington