College Championships


2019 Callahan Award Finalists Announced

Colorado Springs, Colo. (May 16, 2019) – USA Ultimate is excited to announce the finalists for the 2019 Callahan Award. Each year, the Callahan is awarded to the most valuable players in college ultimate, as voted on by their peers.

Founded in 1996 by Charles Kerr, the award is named after Henry Callahan, an ultimate player and one of the sport’s original organizer.

In alphabetical order, the 2019 finalists are:

Men’s Division:

  • Joseph Fugate – Tennessee-Chattanooga
  • Matt Gouchoe-Hanas – North Carolina
  • Mac Hecht – Brown
  • Tannor Johnson – Massachusetts
  • Kirtan Patel – Texas-Dallas

Women’s Division:

  • Rebecca Fagan – North Carolina
  • Sadie Jezierski – Ohio State
  • Anna Thompson – Pennsylvania
  • Jack Verzuh – Dartmouth
  • Yuge Xiao – Columbia

The 2019 Callahan Award winners will be announced on Sunday, May 26, during the semifinals of the USA Ultimate College Championships in Round Rock, Texas.